NC State
Nils Peterson

grads_niels

Current Graduate Students

Conner Burke, email: crburke18@gmail.com

  • Predicting Available Hunting Land and Hunter Density and Distribution

Kalysha Clark, email: keclark@ncsu.edu

  • Evaluating Efficacy of Conservation Planning in the Southeast

Danielle Frank, email: dafrank2@ncsu.edu

  • Intergenerational Transfer of Climate Change Related Knowledge and Attitudes

James Garabedian, email: jegarabe@ncsu.edu

  • Influence of Foraging Habitat on Red-cockaded Woodpecker Productivity

Graise Lee Jenni, email: gdlee2@ncsu.edu

  • Exploring the dynamics of diversifying stakeholder use in Protected Areas

Jessica Pope: jdpope2@ncsu.edu

  • Agricultural Landowner Interest in Military Conservation Programs

Rene Valdez, email: rxvaldez00@gmail.com

  • Genetic Engineering and Society IGERT

Alumni

  • Jane Anderson, email: andersoncjane@gmail.com
    • Thesis: Willingness to support game and nongame conservation in North Carolina
    • Current Position: Interdisciplinary Ecology PhD program University of Florida
  • Emily Blackman, email: emily.b.blackman@gmail.com
    • Thesis: Agricultural Wintering Habitat as a Limiting Factor for Woodcock in the Southeast: Thirty years of Agroecosystem Change
    • Current Position: Land Protection Associate, D&R Greenway Land Trust
  • Merril Cook, email: merril.cook@ncwildlife.org
    • Thesis: Practitioners’ insights on wildlife translocation and reintroduction
    • Current Position: NC Wildlife Resources Commission Captive Cervid Coordinator
  • Michael Drake, email: michaeldrake1911@gmail.com
    • Thesis: Human Dimensions of Coyote Management in Human-dominated Environments
    • Current Position: Environmental Studies PhD program University of Colorado
  • Michaela Foster, email: michaela.o.foster@gmail.com
    • Thesis: The Role of Climate Science in Natural Resource Management Decision Making in the Southeast
    • Current Position: Forestry & Environmental Studies PhD program Yale
  • Meg Lawler Fratanduono, email: lawler.megan@gmail.com
    • Thesis: Accessing viability of urban biomass utilization as a green energy source
    • Current Position: Wildlife Biologist/Environmental Analyst, Lawrence Livermore National Lab
  • Kristin Frew, email: knfrew@ncsu.edu
    • Thesis: Valuation of Wildlife Species in North Carolina
    • Current Position: Environmental Educator NCĀ  Wildlife Resources Commission
  • Maureen Hayes, email: mchayes3@ncsu.edu
    • Thesis: Ecotourism and Support for Natural Resource Conservation on Andros Island, Bahamas
    • Current Position: Analyst SAS
  • Shari Rodriguez, email: slrodri@clemson.edu
  • Chris Serenari, email: chris_serenari@ncsu.edu
    • Dissertation: Weightless Conservation: Exploring the Rise of Large-Scale Private Protected Areas and Livelihood Change in Chile
    • Current Position: NC Wildlife Resources Commission, Human Dimensions Specialist
  • Rachel Shellabarger, email: rachel.shellabarger@gmail.com
    • Thesis: Conservation and Human Rights Responses to Undocumented Migration in the Arizona Borderlands
    • Current Position: Environmental Studies PhD program UC Santa Cruz
  • Kathryn Stevenson, email: Kathryn_stevenson@ncsu.edu
    • Dissertation:
    • Current Position: Parks, Recreation & Toursim Management Faculty, NC State University https://kathrynstevenson.wordpress.ncsu.edu/
  • Paul Taillie, email: paultaillie@gmail.com
    • Thesis: Using Distribution and Abundance of Birds to Guide Management of Fire-maintained Forest Ecosystems
    • Current Position: Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology PhD program NC State University

General information for students interested in applying to the HD lab

I usually accept students who will be connected with a specific research project. The Forestry & Environmental Resources Department has fellowship opportunities for prospective graduate students who have a truly excellent academic record. If I believe you are a strong candidate for one of these fellowships, I will contact you immediately

If you’d like to contact me to express general interest in graduate research, please do the following:

  1. Send me an email or describing your academic and professional background and why you are interested in working in my lab. Please outline your learning and research objectives as a graduate student and your professional goals.
  2. Submit an up-to-date resume.
  3. Submit a copy (unofficial is fine) of your most recent transcript or summarize your undergraduate (and graduate if you already have a graduate degree) courses and grades.
  4. Submit your GRE scores if you have taken them.

I will send you an email note acknowledging receipt of your materials, and will include it with other applications I receive, or I may contact you about an immediate opportunity. If you haven’t received an acknowledgement, send me an email.